The Friends of the Genesee Valley Greenway, Inc. (the Friends, or simply “FOGVG”) is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit membership organization, incorporated in 1993.


Carl Schoenthal - President
Rebecca Rowley - Vice President
Frances Gotcsik - Treasurer
Joan Schumaker - Secretary

Board of Directors

The Friends is governed by an 8 to 15 member Board of Directors composed of individuals living within the Greenway region. The Directors offer a wealth of relevant practical knowledge gained through personal experience, as well as specialized expertise in areas related to their vocational, recreational, and intellectual pursuits.  Three-year terms begin 10/1 and end 9/30.

Class of 2024
Coleridge Gill - Rochester, Monroe
Pam Hill – Mt. Morris, Livingston
Kimberly Meehan - Cuba, Allegany
Marilee Patterer – Black Creek, Allegany
Steve Raub – Cuba, Allegany

Class of 2025
Frances Gotcsik – Lima, Livingston
Davies Nagel – York, Livingston
Robert Reynolds – Caledonia, Livingston
Joan Schumaker - Dalton, Livingston
Benjamin Woelk - Rochester, Monroe

Class of 2026
Jonathan Enzinna – Cuba, Allegany
Phyllis Gaerte - Caneadea, Allegany
Rebecca Rowley – Fillmore, Allegany
Carl Schoenthal - Scottsville, Monroe
Sarah Weeden – Rochester, Monroe

Remembering Ned Holmes, 1935 – 2020, FOGVG President, 2003 – 2013